My Ode to TikTok

TikTok, I snubbed my nose at you like so many of my age, Gen X-ers who have lived full lives before tech came along, us knowing how to entertain ourselves without a device in our hand.

 

TikTok, I rolled my eyes when showed me saw dance after dance, young people passing their times with videos of pranks, jokes and playing with pets.

 

TikTok, I pulled you out last Spring, desperate to find something engaging for my newly online students. You offered up a few challenges we did in Morning Meeting and my gratitude for you was planted.

 

And then it was a colleague, a fellow Gen Xer who shared that his wellness hack was lying in bed after waking up, for 15 minutes, scrolling TikTok, before starting his day. Really?, I thought. But I was intrigued.

 

Soon after, I dusted off up my TikTok account and started scrolling. The algorithm kept feeding me dance videos and other teenager antics. It took me a while to change my algorithm and start seeing vides that spoke to me.  I learned to scroll, like, follow and bookmark videos I wanted to return to. Slowly my feed changed. I discovered #teachertiktok and found colleagues in other parts of the country showing their Covid safe classrooms, routines and classroom hacks for bringing students back into the building. I was intrigued and jealous. I also found so many teachers doing distant learning, that shared their tech tips that taught me so many ways to make learning more engaging and participatory for our students. I found people living in their vans, people moving to new countries, and people voicing their support of BLM. I found fellow runners, crafters and so many positive people supporting one another. The election came, the Capital insurrection, more lockdowns and people filled my tiktok with joy, laughter, tears and connection.

 

I tell others about the delight tiktok brings me and how it helps me feel more connected, less alone. It feels like the most supportive and inclusive  place on the internet. Certainly a kinder venue than Twitter. There is a spot, a community for everyone on tiktok, whatever you are interested in. It will also offer you insight into people’s lives that are very different than your own. Windows and Mirrors. I still get rolled eyes, polite smiles and changed subjects.

 

That is ok. Tiktok, I am so sorry I judged you. I feel bad that I ignored you. Like a good friend, you forgave me. You welcomed me back with a warm smile, joy in your eyes and an open heart. For that I am grateful. Thank you TikTok.

4 thoughts on “My Ode to TikTok

  1. It’s easy to judge when one doesn’t know or understand. your slice shows the importance of being open-minded and ready to explore. Not a Tik-Tok user myself I accept that this is something that matters in my daughter’s life.

  2. Thank you for pushing us to appreciate tech. My son loves this platform (he’s a creator, not just a consumer), and I too often judge instead of lean in an experience the tech myself. This weekend, I’ll explore some more, thanks to your encouraging post!

Leave a Reply