Hitting the Writing Wall

Well, I suppose it was bound to happen. Expected really. It is Day 15 and I have put off writing till 6 PM. When running a marathon, the wall usually hits round mile 18, or 20 if you are lucky, then just a home stretch to talk yourself through to the finish. Here, in this writing challenge,  I have 31-16=15 more days. I am only half way there.

 

It is not like I don’t have things to write about or that I don’t want to write. It is actually, a lot like running. I am just tired. I guess I should have trained better. The excitement of the mile markers and rest stations are fading. It feels like there is only me, my computer and my faithful family of readers. Thank You family!

 

Tired was the biggest word on our Mentimeter in our staff meeting today, our connector question that asked how are we feeling? So, I am not alone. There is comfort in that.

 

Too many thoughts swirling around, making it difficult to focus on one idea. We did get a teacher return to school date today, so there is that. April 5th. Still no student return to school date or knowledge of what model; 2 days, 4 days for those kids that chose to return. More waiting? All this waiting is tiring.

5 thoughts on “Hitting the Writing Wall

  1. Yes, you are not alone in exhaustion. We are teaching hybrid with some students coming daily starting March 22.
    When admin decisions are finally made, that will lighten your stress load. Hang in there! Sending virtual strength!

  2. Agreed on TIRED being the word of this week and your comparison of this year to a marathon (not that I’ve ever run one). Spring forward also did us no favors. Good luck as your district transitions to in-person school.

  3. There is still quite a way to go…pant, pant, pant…but 13.1 days have passed, keep on going. Although there is no sag wagon, there are people cheering you on. You can do it! It’s okay to walk a little. You’ve got this!

  4. Love the comparison to running a marathon, where the “excitement of the mile markers and rest stations are fading.” Yes, I do know of what you write, about writing. Interesting to think that if we’d trained better, we’d find it easier. Perhaps that is true, as I was not writing for awhile. Here’s to being less tired, and finding easier writing and running days ahead.

Leave a Reply