Savoring a Great Podcast

I recently discovered a new podcast and I immediately fell in love with it. It is not like my other newsy podcasts, The Daily and Post Reports, telling the day’s depressing news in an entertaining, interviewee fashion. No. It is not even like the thematic storytelling podcasts, This American Life and Ear Hustle that I savor and hold till my long run each Sunday. And it is certainly not like all the various teaching podcasts I listen to reminding me of things I once learned and forgot, or never even considered. No, it is a podcast by a writer, with words strung together, a cadence that takes your breath away and paints an image, a  feeling that lodges deep in your heart. Yes, I am talking about the podcast by Jason Reynolds, called My Mother Made Me

 

You probably know Jason Reynolds from his middle grade Track Series with the books of Ghost, Patina, Sunny and Lu. Those kids, those books are so good. Or maybe you know his older kid books, All American Boys or Long Way Down. I heard him on another podcast once talk about how he writes books for 10 and 16 year olds because those were the years most challenging for him. I discovered Jason Reynold’s during lockdown, when he hosted Instagram live sessions called Brain Yoga talking and playing games with kids. His reverence for his readers, the kids who logged on was unmistakable. The feelings were mutual. So looked up his books and read them one by one. I’ve told everyone I care about, about his books. But his podcast, Wow!

 

I suppose what I love most is, he is a writer, a writer who loves words and knows how to string them together in such a way that your heart stops, or slows, flips or does something. You take note. Most podcasts I listen to at  as speed of 1.25 to get through and move on. But this one, I want to listen to it at regular speed, slowly, savoring each part, it is that good. But I also love that it is about him and his mother. Their mutual adoration is also indisputable. But not in a corny, or mama’s boy kind of way. They are friends too, confiding in one another. I am a mother of a young adult, and to think that I can have this kind of relationship with my child would be everything to me. 

 

The only downside, really the only one, is that there are only four episodes. That is it. So savor them.

10 thoughts on “Savoring a Great Podcast

  1. Thank you for sharing. I now have a new podcast to hear. What sold me was the topic and your testimonial on maintaining the regular rate of the recording so you could savor every word. It’s so rare to not rush through life. Lastly, best of luck on developing that relationship with your child.

  2. Wow! I have not read any Jason Reynolds but now I want to read his books AND listen to his podcast. Thank you!

  3. I appreciate all the podcast recommendations and will try some that are new to me. But especially Jason Reynolds! I am already a fan but you drew me in. I cant get over the fact he writes for 10 and 16 year olds because he knows that is a difficult time. What love.
    As for your writing, very effective structure. One paragraph as intro on you and podcasts, one on JR, and one showing why you appreciate him. I’ll be trying it out in 1.0 time!

  4. I hope you enjoy it Fran. I also appreciate how you comment on my structure, something I am not aways away of when writing. I appreciate it and it gets me thinking.

  5. I am such a FAN of Jason, have been forever, and to see him and hear him speak is to settle into a sweet spot.(Before he was SUPER HUGE, I got to meet him at NCTE and ALAN.) I didn’t know about his podcast, but I’m in. I’d recommend Padraig OTuama’s podcast Poetry Unbound for the very same reasons you love Jason. It’s like settling in to a great conversation with a friend. (He is a writer, too, a poet, and a HUMAN extraordinaire, just like Jason.)

    1. Thanks for the recommendation. I will definitely check it out. I am glad others out there love Jason Reynolds as much as I do. What a treat to meet him in person. BTW, I read (actually listened) to the book you recommended last week, All the Rage. It was indeed good and sad and stressful and so much more. Thanks for the recs.

Leave a Reply