TikTok is my Love Language

Everyone knows about the different love languages; acts of service, physical touch, quality time, gifts and words of affirmation. Couples or friends identify how they like to show and share their love. If I had to choose, I’d pick acts of acts of service or words of affirmation. But I find these categories stifling. 

 

TicTok is my love language. Before you stop reading, hear me out. I was a late adopter to TikTok. I was like many older folks who snub their nose at the new fangled things that consumes our young people’s time and energy. I did not have an account, I just saw excited kids talking, watching videos and reacting joyfully. I felt bad for them and all the time it sucked from their life. I did not get it. It was not till the pandemic, when a colleague, someone I greatly respected shared in a Zoom room connector that they used TikTok at the end of a long day to relax and decompress. Them? Really? Hmmm. My curiosity was piqued. 

 

I logged on and was quickly hit with dance videos, pranks and lots of silliness. But, as I kept scrolling, liking, and following more and more videos showed up on my feed that spoke to me. It took time, but I discovered teacher tik tok, amazing crafters and DIYers, I found people all over the world with interests and perspectives different from my own. For the most part it was a place of kindness, honesty and connection. So TikTok became my love language. I shared funny teaching videos with my teacher friends, compelling videos on culture with my husband and cooking videos with my family. When I watch a video, I enjoy it, I am moved, I connect but I also think of the people in my life that I want to share that joy with who I want to know I am thinking of them. So I send them a TikTok. 

 

Sadly, the algorithm is pretty powerful and makes it very hard to pull away from, so I try not to log on too much. Timers and alarms don’t work for me. I just keep watching. So, use is sparingly. But each time I do, I settle into the TikTok community where I feel seen, heard and I see and hear others. My understanding and empathy swells, my stomach hurts from laughing and my excitement for new project is lit on fire. And my brain and heart reach to stake my love with others by clicking share.

2 thoughts on “TikTok is my Love Language

  1. I am the same way when it comes to TikTok! I had my partner set a time limit through the app with a code. Once you reach your limit on TikTok, it’ll “lock” and you need the code to unlock it. Try it out! It’s helped. 🤭

Leave a Reply