Self Care Plans for the Classroom

Yesterday, I  listened for the first time to the podcast , Leading Equity and it filled me with so much hope, understanding and  possibility. The guest was Chardé Hollins, a licensed social worker. On the podcast, they discussed a range of topics such as the connection between families living in poverty and mental health and when students are undiagnosed or misdiagnosed. Her comments were from a place of insight and affirmation, unlike all the folks that have come into my school to share their expertise; trauma informed practices, restorative practices, relationship building. Those are all good, great in fact and I wholeheartedly believe and try to align my instruction with them, And yet, Ms. Hollins took those to a new level, for me at least. 

 

She spoke of a self care plan for your classroom. Sounds good, innocent, like good practice. And in unpacking it, I realize it is so much more. It is a way to see, notice, affirm, and truly empower each and every student in your classroom. At the beginning of the year, you have students identify what “tells” they signal that they are not ok. It might be slumped shoulders. It might be avoidant eye contact. It might be exhaling deep sighs. One of the brilliant pieces is the students themselves examine their own being and identify what it is they do. Then they identify what would be supportive. Perhaps it is a hug from the teacher or time in the library reading a book, or a walk to the faucet in the hall, whatever. Again, the student needs to do some self examination to identify what would help them get from not ok to ok. It is shared with the teacher, so they can respond and affirm to each individual student. She recommends revisiting this plan through the year to ensure it keeps up the students developmental needs. 

 

Another part she shared was having students share songs that they listen to when they are upset, or want to be empowered. Again, this is all shared privately. The teacher can create a playlist and when they see that “tell” sign from a student, without making a fuss, can quietly put that song on the speakers. The kid knows, they are seen. They are given an offering of how to process and get back to ok. I think we have all seen the videos of teachers greeting kids at the door with the preferred handshake, hug or fist bump. The ideas in this podcast take that to a new level. 

 

There was more and ways to differentiate for lower and upper grades. I have even been thinking of how our staff might try it out and use in our shared spaces and meetings. Like most good teaching, it is about building those strong relationships. I highly recommend checking it out.

8 thoughts on “Self Care Plans for the Classroom

  1. What a powerful approach for our students self care; I am so glad you shared this today. This is a topic close to my heart, although I am a retired teacher. I will look up this podcast, thank you. Yes, we must find “a way to see, notice, affirm, and truly empower each and every student in your classroom” – to build this right into the way our classrooms work. I love that students examine their own being, and share their ‘tell’ and, really, their ‘ask’ – what they need most. I’m going to chat with my adult children about this – we all need to be so honest and forthcoming, to care for one another. Beautiful! T

  2. Thanks for this resource. I just subscribed to the podcast…next cooking session, I’ll listen. The website is loaded with great information. The idea of metacognition, of inviting and supporting kids’ awareness of their own “tells,” signals of their sadness, frustration, or surrender to forces bigger than they, is an invaluable tool—for life—not just for school. I can’t wait to share this with colleagues. (I am so glad Jenna featured your post today! I had missed this one; there are so many excellent bloggers participating this March.)

    1. I am so glad you checked it out. I agree, there is so many powerful ideas and writing in all these blogs. I wish I had the time and capacity to read each one, each day. I also can’t wait to share with the folks at my school after Spring Break!

  3. Thanks for sharing. It sounds like a powerful podcast I’ll have to check out.
    I really like the suggestion to notice our tells. I didn’t realize the deep sigh that signals I’m overwhelmed until a student pointed it out. EYE OPENENER!

  4. Thank you so much for sharing this. These are such valuable ideas that I think would really benefit some specific students in my class. I appreciate the clear way you distilled the information from the podcast to share!

    1. You are so welcome. When I was listening, I was blown away at how simple and powerful the thinking was. You should definitely listen to the full podcast thought, lots more to learn.

  5. We are focusing more and more on SEL in the classroom and library, so I’m always up for learning more strategies to support our students. Thank you for sharing this resource with us!

Leave a Reply