13 Things About Me

Today is the 13th day of March. It was a very busy day with little downtime. When one is tired, habits or structures can be helpful. So I am reaching for a structure for this 13th day of writing.

1. I once trained for the Golden Gloves. As in boxing. I was strong, small, fast, but my arms were short and the time I got knocked out made me realize I did not like boxing enough to do possible brain damage. What I do remember was the stars that circled my head, just like in the cartoons. And my neck the next day. So sore from being hit in the head, I was barely able to turn my head or look down. 

 

2. I love my cat, Gingersnap. She is sweet, purrs a lot and likes to keep me company. I don’t like that that means traipsing over my keyboard as I work or atop my head as I sleep. 

 

3. I have set a reading goal for myself this year. 50 books. I have only read 8 books  so far. This writing challenge has put a bit of a hitch in my reading this month. More about my favorite books so far in another slice. 

 

4. I am renewing my National Board Certification this year. That means I am currently thinking about teaching even more than normal. It is like taking out a dirty pair of glasses and shining them up and seeing everything more clearly. I like the learning and the challenge of trying to explain the things I am doing and learning. 

 

5. I get great joy out of using up all the food in the refrigerator or cupboards. I don’t really like chunky peanut butter. I prefer creamy peanut butter. But I have eaten chunky peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for the last week now to empty the jar and drop it into the recycling bin. So satisfying. 

 

6. My dad once tried to help my pull out a tooth by tying a string to one end my tooth and the other end to the handle of the door. He then slammed the door shut. The string slipped off and the tooth stayed in my mouth for another few days. 

 

7. I once got a phone call from the tooth fairy letting me know that she had visited my house, my room, looked under my pillow and found no tooth. She told me she would try one more time, that night and then no more chances. That night, I left my tooth under my pillow and the next morning, I had a dollar. 

 

8. I studied art and writing in college. When I got out, I thought to myself, “What job could I have with lots of free time so I could make art and write?” Someone suggested teaching. Here I am 20+ years later. 

 

9. I once traveled to Australia. But I did not pay attention during science class and learn that Australia is in the Southern hemisphere and has opposite seasons to us in the U.S. I went to Australia in our Summer and when I got there I was dismayed to realize it was their winter. I froze the two weeks I was there. 

 

10. My favorite food to eat is Yum Kha Gai. It is a kind of chicken coconut Thai soup. It instantly warms me from the inside out, like a soft, comforting hug. 

 

11. I am always cold. I wear many layers each day to stave off the cold. You can unusually find me with a scarf too. My bed has an electric blanket and my favorite place in my house is the soft chair right in front of the fireplace. 

 

12. I have hypothyroidism which is why I am always so cold. I take medicine. I only recently found out my brother and father have the same condition.

 

13. I love teaching and schools. As hard as it is, as messy as it is, I think kids, schools and teaching are wonderful!

4 thoughts on “13 Things About Me

  1. This is a great way to share information about yourself. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the very interesting 13 things about you. The tooth fairy is a sweet memory.

    1. Thanks for reading. The tooth fairy story is a fond memory and one my kids love hearing about each year.

  2. I like learning all these little bits! And that chicken soup is my favorite, too! I eat it with sticky rice, which pleases me enormously!

Leave a Reply