Stuffie Day! Bingo Goes to School!

Last week was Spirit Week. You know, infusing whimsy and fun to build a sense of community and belonging in a school. Pajama day, color day, twins day, school mascot day and off course the crowd favorite, stuffie day. 

 

Out come the plushies, the Stitches, the teddy bears, Pikachu and an assortment of  Minecraft plushies. Kids greeted one another on the rainy, wet Wednesday one stuffie to another. Plushies shook hands, hugged one another and flew through the air with a joyful squeal from their owner. 

 

I brought Bingo. Bingo is a dog from the show Bluey made for the younger set. It is from Australia so they have a fun accent and have episodes like Veranda Santa because in Australia Santa comes in summer and drops off gifts to the veranda, not via the chimney. I discovered Bluey when my college age kid came home for Christmas break. Over dinner one night, I asked what they had watched recently. To my surprise, they answered, “Bluey”. I am a teacher, so I knew Bluey was a little kid thing and did not understand why my college age kid was watching Bluey. They saw the look on my face and elaborated. “Sometimes I watch it late at night with my friends. It is hysterical. Have you seen the flossing episode?” I hadn’t. 15 minutes later we were watching Bluey. In the episode Bingo, the little sibling of Bluey is convinced Granny can floss, as in dance move, floss. Bluey thinks she can’t. Feelings are hurt, Granny fails and then learn to floss and all is right with the world again, or at least Bluey and Bingo’s world. It is hysterical. It is heartwarming. It is wonderful. Over the course of my kid’s visit home, we watched more episodes together. We especially liked the granny episodes where Bluey and Bingo dress up and play grannies

 

After my kid went back to college, my husband could see the sadness that envelops me each time our kid’s absence begins anew. So, one day he came home from work with a present for me. It was Bingo. A stuffed Bingo. If you squeezed it, she giggles or asks, “Can we play a game together?”  I love her. She sits on a shelf next to my bed looking at me, making me smile and think of my kid. If I am particularly down, I squeeze her and her giggle or words soften the day. 

 

On Wednesday, Bingo went to school. The kindergarteners recognized her immediately. “BINGO!” they shrieked when they saw her. The older kids asked who the dog was. Bingo had a good day, sliding down the slide with Mila, being tossed up in the air over and over with Nova and reading books with King. Later in the day, I dropped into the upper grade lunch and one kid, Dominique pulled me aside and asked,  “Ms. H, I hear you have Bingo. Is it true?” “Yes, it is.  I love Bingo!” I answered.  “Me too,” Dominique shared. “Do you like the granny episodes?”, I asked. Her eyes wide, mouth smiling,  she said, “YES!

 

Bingo had a great day. Stuffie Day was a success. Community and Belonging fostered in the school and in my family. 

 

10 thoughts on “Stuffie Day! Bingo Goes to School!

  1. This slice is heartwarmingly universal, as is Bingo apparently. I have not seen the Grannie episodes, so thank you for the recommendation. Your dialogue snippets with students and your son, intertwined with your reflections, made me smile.

  2. I adore Stuffie Days. I’m a grown adult who still loves getting stuffies. I love hearing kids stories about their stuffies. The more to just help them be joyous kids, the better!

  3. I love that your older kids shared the magic of Bluey with you! I have little but I find when we put on Bluey my husband and I constantly say, “SHHH” because we are definitely more into it than they are! Your husband’s gift of Bingo is so sweet. We all need these reminders, even when it’s not stuffie day!

  4. This is so dear!! Your husband is a treasure to treat you with this lovey, and how fun that your students get to feel the joy of Bingo, too. I have only recently been introduced to Bluey, through my young granddaughters – and it is wonderfully written, on two levels, I think, for both children and adults to be entertained.

  5. This is such a sweet post. I’ve often heard that Bluey has many adult fans. It’s been on my list, but now I think it’s going to the top.

Leave a Reply